Day 25

August 29, 2009

A very late post today as I get into fully into days off mode. Late starts, meeting friends, jumble sales, Caribbean food and power naps; it’s how every day should be. A double dose as compensation. Last night I went to The Birdcage to celebrate a friend’s birthday with drinks and karaoke. I decided it was time to dust off this 50p bargain that I have only worn once before, at a fancy dress as Pat Butcher. It’s a ridiculous purple satin, shoulder-padded, bat-winged triumph of a top in size 20 and I love it. I wore it as a dress with a skirt underneath and the Martini brooch pinning it together for modesty’s sake, finished off with a pair of my favourite heels. As you can see, I found it all very exciting.
pat
These shoes are awesome. They are part of a line by Donnie & Gaynor for Freed of London. As they are dance shoes, they are so comfortable. They have malleable soles which means it feels like you are wearing flats. I have a few pairs of dance shoes and I always look out for them as you can wear them all day and, because of what they are intended for, they last really well. Plus, they are nearly always very glitzy which is how all shoes should be.

Today was very dressed down in comparison, a little bit boyish even but just right for a relaxed but busy Saturday.

stripes

If I could, I think I would wear shorts almost every day. Maybe I should move somewhere where the weather allows it but for now, I’ll make do with tights underneath. These are pretty special ‘snowflake’ ones. Lavender with white dots all over.  My shoes get laughed at a lot, mainly because I call them ‘my trainers’, these and converse are the closest I get to trainers. I like them because they have white eyelets all the way around and a little tag that reads ‘Bubbles’.

Vintage 80s Purple Satin Batwing Top – Kim London via PDSA
Vintage Gold Dance Shoes – Freed of London via New Hope Trust
Striped Navy & White Cotton Breton top – Amor Lux
Navy Deck Shoes – Bubbles
Vintage 80s Lavender Polka Dot Tights – BHS

Leave a Reply

